Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What makes you a journalist?

3 posters

Go down

What makes you a journalist? Empty What makes you a journalist?

Post by Yuliya Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:48 pm

Being a journalism student, I still feel strange when someone refers to me as a journalist. I certainly have to gather more experience, to gain more skills and to prove myself before I can say “Hi! I am a journalist!”

The highlight of today's lecture
The highlight of today’s lecture

Today we had an extremely insightful lecture on Media Law and Ethics and I couldn’t stop making parallels between the academic theories and the Bulgarian reality.

We discussed what makes you a journalist. Among the answers we mentioned were:

I get paid by a big media organization
My job specification has “journalist” in it
I publish stuff
I am good at writing and getting people to talk
But is any of them (or all of them) enough to make you a journalist?

This question really intrigued me after I saw what happened in Bulgaria on Sunday. I thought that nothing can surprise me anymore, but I was wrong. Rosen Petrov, the host of one of the leading talk shows in the country, declared in national air that he is joining the party of Nikolay Barekov who also recently decided to step back from journalism and to enter politics. After the declaration the interview between the two went on normally.

At first glance, you might thing that this is a quite upright step – in the end, Petrov did not lie about his political affiliations, but if we look again the first question that will strike us is: how can you, as a journalist, use national air for your own political goals?

Can a journalist actually have his own political goals?