Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How should history be taught?

+7
oftenwrong
sickchip
Phil Hornby
witchfinder
Stox 16
astra
Shirina
11 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

How should history be taught? Empty How should history be taught?

Post by Shirina Sat Dec 31, 2011 6:48 pm

Well, this could have gone in the "Health and Education" section, but given that that section is more health than education, here it is.

I woke up today and read this:
A California law will add gays and lesbians and people with disabilities to the list of social and ethnic groups whose contributions must be taught in history lessons in public schools. The law also bans teaching materials that reflect poorly on gays or particular religions.

What the hell? Okay, rant inbound.

This really peeves me on many levels because, as a former history teacher, I know how hard this subject is to teach. Even when I was in high school during the 90's, the teaching of history was like spreading too little butter over too much bread. There is simply too much history to cover in a two year period. I say "two years" because in the US, American history is covered in a two year course. There were things I had vague notions of and even more things I knew nothing about. For instance, I never knew or understood what Watergate was all about. So I patiently but eagerly awaited the time when we would be taught all about Watergate, our involvement in Vietnam, the Iran hostage crisis, the end of the Cold War, etc. But we never got that far. The 1960's was all about the Civil Rights movement, MLK, racial equality, and the hippy counter-culture. Oh, we were taught about the protests against the Vietnam War, but we were never taught just what the Vietnam War actually was.